So, you recorded an awesome video and it is ready to be shared with the world. Or maybe you just want to show it to a few specific people. Luckily, it’s up to you to decide who can see and reuse the videos you recorded. Whether you are using the online editor or the Prezi Video desktop app, it only takes a few clicks to adjust the privacy settings of your videos.
Setting privacy in Prezi Video online
There are two options for setting the privacy of your videos. You can choose either public+reusable or unlisted.
Public and reusable: Your video can appear in search engines and is viewable by anyone on the web. Also, other Prezi Video users can reuse the content (slides) in your video to record their own.
Unlisted: Your video will not appear in any search engine and only viewable to people with the link. Other users cannot reuse the content (slides) to create their own.
Once your video is recorded, trimmed, and processed, you’ll be redirected to the video admin. You can set the privacy by clicking on the dropdown in the top right corner. From here, you can also delete your video, rename it, or add tags.
If you would like to change the privacy settings of your video later, just go to your Prezi Video dashboard, click the three dots in the bottom right corner of your video thumbnail, and you will be redirected to the admin page.
Privacy settings in the Prezi Video desktop application
Once you recorded and trimmed your video in the desktop app, you will have the option to sync it to your Prezi Video online dashboard so you can share it via a link, but you can also download the video as a .mp4 file directly to your computer.
Before uploading your video to your Prezi account, you can determine whether the video will be public or unlisted. Public videos can be viewed and reused by anyone on the web while unlisted videos can only be viewed by people you send a view link to.
If you export your video as an .mp4 file with the desktop app without syncing it your account, it will not be available online for anyone to see. This also means that you can only share it by sending the video file and you cannot share it with a link.